Stroke

Sooooo…I’m sorry I haven’t been around. 

My dad suffered a bad stroke. It’s a side effect of morbid obesity.

I’m really tied up with family stuff at this point and this has been ongoing and it will continue to be ongoing since my dad is no longer the man who raised me, but he’s some stranger who doesn’t know who I am and who will now be, at 65, spending the rest of his life in a nursing home.

I don’t know when I’ll be able to get back on here to answer questions or to show anyone how we’re doing (nor do I really want to because things are absolute crap right now). 

I urge anyone who is obese to lose the weight. What I’m going through, what my kids are going through since I’m now part of the “Sandwich Generation” (Google it), is unbearable and unnecessary. It’s preventable. 

Lose weight. Exercise daily. Eat healthy. Spare your loved ones the grief that everyone in my family is experiencing and save yourself the loss of your brain function. 

What more motivation do you need?

17 thoughts on “Stroke

  1. I’m so sorry to hear this. You were afraid something like this would happen because of his weight. Please know that you are in my thoughts.

  2. I have been looking for you and was starting to worry some. I hope that you are doing as well as can be expected and that your find tons of strength.

  3. So sorry to hear about this. As a Financial Planner, my heart goes out to you, as you’re so right, there are ways to prevent this, not only with your health, but financially as well. It just takes planning.

    Take care of yourself and your family, that’s all that matters right now.

  4. Every time I try to send you something more substantive (a full length email), half a dozen other things intervene… So I’m sorry, you’re stuck w/a long comment!
    Sorry to hear about your dad; despite all the books & articles & links I forward to my parents, their poor health habits continue. Dad had another minor stroke in April which temporarily deprived him of the use of his L arm, & continues his long depressing slide into dementia… Reaching the point (oh hell it’s already PAST) that Mom can’t take care of him by herself (she’s 82 for goodness sake).
    You would think w/this as primary motivator my efforts would be redoubled, but no, I keep bouncing up & down the same 5-lb range on scales. I blame stress & sleep deprivation. Hang in there, honey.

  5. I’ve not been blogging or reading blogs for a few months. Long story. But I was so sad to come here and read this. My heart goes out to you and your family. I lost my Dad in April and he had a massive stroke many years ago, not related to obesity. It is so hard. GIve yourself all the time you need. There are no rules about how to feel or what to do in this situation. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

